Carry Him to His Mother

I want to share something I read in my devotions this morning.

While I was on vacation, my mother gave me this devotional booklet called “Carry Him to His Mother”. At the time I was very gung-ho about wanting to be a better mother, and wanting to do my devotions. I saved the booklet for when I got home, and now, almost a year later, I picked it up.

I read exclusively out of the King James Version (that’s a discussion for another time), so when I read a devotional I always look up the scripture. The scripture is out of 2Kings 4:8-19. I picked up my Bible and began to read the verses. I read about how this woman was a great hostess to the man of God, how she asked her husband to build an extra room on the house so that the Elisha had a place to sleep when he came through town, and how Elisha promised that she would give birth to a child as up to this point she didn’t have any children. Again, this story was not ringing any bells. The woman eventually gave birth to a son, who then grew up, and one day, while he was in the fields with his father, the son said “my head! My head!” So his dad said “carry him to his mother”. That’s where verse 19 ends. I wanted to know what happened next, so I read on, and in the next verse, the child died.

At that point I was ready to stop reading, and I actually DID stop reading. I’m a mother, so like most mothers, my greatest fear is something happening to my children. I try to avoid anything that will cause me to think those thoughts because it’s TERRIFYING, and it’s heart wrenching. I actually kind of got upset with the writer of the booklet, and thought: what possessed this guy to write something like this! So I started reading out of the booklet again, where the first lesson is focused on what a great woman she was. I couldn’t focus, all I could think about was the woman and her dead son. I had to go back and read the rest of the story. As I read on, I began to remember it more. She goes down and tells her husband that she needs his donkey and he basically says “why? Is everything ok?” and she says “It will be well” and just LEAVES! Then she goes and finds Elisha who first sends the servant to the child which is unsuccessful, and then goes himself and prays and stretches himself out on the child, and the child is revived.

So where am I going with this? The thing that sticks out to ME is the number of times this woman said “it will be well”. Her son is dead, but she has faith that everything is going to be ok. She didn’t say “it’s probably going to be fine” or “there’s a good possibility that everything will turn out OK” she said “It WILL BE well”. The faith that that woman had is amazing to me. I’m not there yet. I’m not even in the same UNIVERSE as having faith like that, and I hope God never tests me in that way, but that level of faith, it SCREAMS.

I know people with that level of faith, and it astounds me. I have a friend that I used to work with who recently lost her son. It was devastating to both herself and her family. He wasn’t sick or anything, but one day he was there and the next day he wasn’t. This woman had such a testimony at work of being a Christian LONG before anything ever happened to her son. I remember how far and wide her testimony spread after her loss. It wasn’t just because people were telling the tragic story of what happened, it was because of her response. She would have hard days of course, days when she would break down and cry, but at the end of every conversation she would say “It’s going to be OK. God’s got this”. THAT’S faith. Like I said, I’m certainly not there, and as matter of fact, I prayed over and over after my devotions that God would never test me in that area but MAN how amazing!

Leave a Reply

